A Dedication to Truth versus A Dedication to Anything Less


I posted this today on one of my other blogs–

A Dedication to Truth versus A Dedication to Anything Less

Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest. The choice to let our true selves be seen.” – Brene Brown, The Gifts of Imperfection, pg. 49.

We know we’re getting healthier as a person when we can start admitting the truth about ourselves—and about our falseness—aloud, and not only to ourselves but to others.

The quickest and surest—as well as toughest and most demanding—route to mental health is to dedicate ourselves fearlessly and fiercely to truth and to reality—to the way things really are, and to the way we actually are. . . .

The most pivotal and life altering decision we as human beings can make in life is this most basic one—to voluntarily give up our illusions, buffers, deceptions, bullshit, softeners, and start taking a fierce and hard-nosed look at ourselves, our fears, and life itself. . . .

Click here to read remainder of the post.

About John

I am a married, 46-year old, Midwesterner, with four children. My primary interest is in leading a very examined and decent and Loving life; my interests that are related to this and that feed into this include (and are not limited to) -- psychology, philosophy, poetry, critical thinking, photography, soccer, tennis, chess, bridge.
This entry was posted in Brene Brown, Mental Health, Spiritual Growth, Truth, Waking Up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Dedication to Truth versus A Dedication to Anything Less

  1. I reblogged because I agree but at the same time it has a bit of a hard tone to it. I don’t believe this was your intention. I didn’t realize you were speaking of addictions/dependencies until I was farther into your post. Either way, I did say my two cents before reblogging. We may not all agree on everyone but in the end we all desire the same things 🙂

    • John says:

      Hello Berkeley,

      I think most people I know and have known would say that I can and do have a hard tone sometimes to what I say. I attribute it to who I run with–and have run with so long–intellectually–writers and thinkers like Peck, Nietzsche, Thoreau, Emerson, Krishnamurti, Kierkegaard, Martin Luther King Jr, Ken Wilber. As I wrote elsewhere, I like my truth straight-up, and if it’s bitter or hard, then I’m okay with it; I don’t want to dilute it or delude myself . . . And so I tend to write here on this blog in an unfiltered way–my thoughts, my internal monologue (or dialogue) with the world spilled out onto paper (err, keyboard and computer screen) in a very raw and unfiltered (but occasionally edited) way. This is how I think and how my mind works.

      I go through life wondering what other people are thiniing, what really goes on behind their eyes / in their head . . . what are thinking about? what stirs them? what stimulates them? what are they seeking? et cetera. I yearn for the real stuff. Not the cover story, not the filtered socially acceptable stuff, not the stuff we say to get approval or attention or validation, but the real unadulterated stuff.

      And So I suppose I am leading by example, being the change I wish to see. . . .

      And sometimes that can come across as a bit harsh or tough-minded in tone, especially to people who haven’t read much Nietzsche or Peck or Krishnamurti, etc. I tend to suspect that if a person has read those authors before, then he or she will find my tone to be no big deal, and perhaps even refreshing and “real”. . . .

      I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practice resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms, and, if it proved to be mean, why then to get the whole and genuine meanness of it, and publish its meanness to the world; or if it were sublime, to know it by experience, and be able to give a true account of it in my next excursion.” – Thoreau, “Walden

      Thank you for commenting, Berkeley. Warmest regards,

      John

      • I get it 🙂 I’m pretty blunt myself. I try to be less harsh with my delivery. Sometimes, I can be a bit forward. Most people either love it or hate it! Either way I appreciate your thoughts (hence the reblog 🙂 )

        • John says:

          Until people know how much you care, they don’t care how much you know. i think the same applies to tone and bluntness–when people know how much you care, they tend to cut you more slack. And you come across as very caring, Berkeley. So good on ya 😉

          • Thank you John. That is my intent is to be honest with a caring and kind tone 🙂 I hope that it always comes through. I won’t lie there are times that I read some things and I think…What are you thinking? And then I remember…it’s all about perspective and who knows what or where that person is within thier life and path. 😉

            • John says:

              I go back to what I wrote in another reply to you . . . even those “what were you thinking” thoughts you have about another are a part of you. And personally I want to be known for who I am and not for a photoshopped version of myself, so I have decided to write in a way that is like life itself–the full catastrophe of life and living and loving; which to me means sometimes being tough-minded in tone (which of course I call/consider being very straightforward and no softeners or bullshite)

Comments (feel free to speak your mind and even to disagree!)

